Put Your Skirt Back On : You’re Somebody’s Mother Now

Do’s and Don’ts of Being a 20-Something Parent!

my men

My Handsome Men #kidallik @realkidallik

Having a baby at any age can be tough, but have a baby in your twenties and – things could get ugly. I have watched “20 something” year old mothers do things in the club that needed a tad more class and wear clothes that could have used a tad more fabric. And I will admit that I have watched these women with a disapproving eye, until it happened to me too. Pregnant at 21, I was still a kid and now a mom. This entire journey has not been easy, but I have created a few tips to make transitioning from partier to parent a bit easier for everyone.

(Although these rules apply to dads too…I can only speak on what I know, so I’ve geared the post towards moms)

I have never gone topless or skirt-less, but  I would be lying if I said I did not know some young moms who have; so For the Mothers:

kids nd faces

Be Silly!

DO allow your youthful spirit and energy to help you relate to your child, run wild through the house, scream instead of using your inside voice, and keep an eye on all those ‘DTF’ and ‘BRB’ text your child is sending. Because you are young enough to know about what your kid is doing that many  older moms are CLUELESS about.

kris

Once your kids are grown the lines may blur. BUT THIS IS A DONT

DONT forget that you are a PARENT! Get your feet off of that bar, your shirt off the floor, and put your head back in the game. It is fine to let loose but whether your child is 3 or 13 nobody wants to be on TMZ or Worldstarhiphop and see their mother doing something strange for a piece of change.

tv time

Me and My Son @ TV Time

DO talk to your child like your friend, if yall are friends. If they are still very young (like my son) feel free to sit and watch your favorite shows with him or her (whether it be cartoons or Scandal), be a kid with them if the opportunity presents itself.

DONT talk to your child as if they too are an adult. Constantly using profanity AT your children is teaching them that explicit language is an appropriate way of expressing yourself. It will only hinder them when they have to integrate into society or the business world, or they do not learn when to shut it off!

mean mom

and another DONT! Tell yo’ kids or let them overhear how you went out and did (TMI) or had a fight with (TMI) or any of the madness. Save the drama, you are a momma! Trust me I know first hand. Sometimes I am going through gossip and drama that makes me feel like I am in high school, but it gets shutdown quickly because my first priority is parenting.

Although I have 100000 more .. this will be the last one!

mommydaughter selfie

Appropriate mommy/daughter Selfie

DO add your kids on social networking sites. They need to be monitored. Allow them to have computer access (under strict surveillance of course). Cell phones, tablets, and the latest gadgets. And for moms with little babies; it is your call if you want to post pix of your baby online, do not let people force you to share your pix or discourage you from flaunting your baby all over the internet.

DONT embarrass your children online. Or show too much of your secret 20 year old life to your child. Keep in mind that screenshots can be dangerous, and the stuff online never really goes away. So behave! Keep the cleavage pix- to a minimum, butt pix – to yourself, and stop allowing your friends to tag you in pix and videos where you are too drunk/high to spell your name. IT IS JUST SHAMEFUL!

………..

I know all of you young mommas are doing a fabulous job! No matter what society has to say about our choice to have a baby young we are literally raising the future, and one of you is raising my son’s future wife! So let’s do this RIGHT!

<3

Ms. Get Right 

2 thoughts on “Put Your Skirt Back On : You’re Somebody’s Mother Now

  1. yes kids do watch everything.Jasahd is still upset about my bathing suit I wore in Miami!!
    It was not revealing to me but from a childs perspective it was so I have to respect it

Leave a Reply

