Dinosaur BBQ #RestaurantReview .@dinosaurBQ

I do not eat out much since I had the baby, when I do go out I don’t like wasting my time or my money on yucky food or terrible service, so to help the other moms around the world who want a guaranteed good meal, I am going to do some reviews of places I eat. This review includes TASTE, PIX, and PRICES.

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

Me and my friend Jack-Attack (aka Jackie) were trying to find a place where we could meet up for lunch and catch up, because we have not hung  out since Ive had the baby.

She suggested Dinosaur BBQ. They have 8 locations (7 in NY -Harlem, Syracuse, Rochester, Stamford, Troy, Brooklyn, and Buffalo. 1 in NJ- Newark).

I had heard of the place and had food brought home for me from there but never had the full dining experience…so we went. We ate at the Newark, NJ location; located at 224 Market st.

First thing I want to say: Awesome Music!

The decor was pleasing, the hostess was so nice, and it was a respectfully laid back feel; so you can talk freely at your own volume, but not like sports bar yelling.

DRINKS – I ordered a Dino-Palmer [aprox $7]  (the restaurants variation of an Arnold Palmer) and Jack ordered a Corona [$?].

Although I could see the ice in my glass, my drink was WARM! I like my liquor to be slightly chilled so that was a little upsetting, but it was yummy none the less.

Jackie’s beer was flat! I do not drink beer so I am not sure how much of a sin that is.

On to the most important part…THE FOOD!

dino

We started with a Swag Sampler Plate for 2. Which was about $12.00

It included 2 Fried green tomatoes, 3 shrimp, 2 chicken wings (we had mild sauce), 2 deviled eggs, and 3 sauces (cocktail, ranch, and blue cheese).

dino2

The fried green tomatoes were SO DELICIOUS! It was my first time ever having and now that I know how yummy they can be I will try making them myself at home.They were topped with Parmesan cheese.. SO GOOD!!! 

The deviled eggs were too salty, the wings were yummy, and the shrimp was good too. Although 3 shrimp came on the plate and the waiter took the plate away before we could eat the 3rd one.

What we Ordered!

Jackie ordered the Cuban (pulled pork, ham and swiss, with pickles & mustard), from the Pork Bbq section of the menu (specialty sandwiches) w/ a side of mac and cheese. (aprox $11).

dino3

She says it was absolutely delicious. The mac and cheese comes topped with a spicy red powder, I do not want to say it is Chili powder because I am not certain.

I had the BBS (BBQ brisket topped with hickory smoked bacon and melted swiss; $10) (sorry there is no image). It was such a nice combination of flavors. I am a lover of swiss cheese and red meat, so I was not surprised at how much I enjoyed it.

My fav parts were actually THE BREAD and THE PICKLES. The bread was soft in the center with a crunchy exterior and the pickles were so fresh. They did not taste like they were soaking in vinegar for ever which is nice, I wonder if they make the pickles on site, hmmm?

It was the perfect quick lunch date totaling about $48.oo. The receipt had this “suggested tip” section at the bottom which we found to be cool. There are definitely cheaper eats around town, but the taste and experience was SO GOOD!

SANYO DIGITAL CAMERA

is there food on my face?

Dinosaur is good with me. I will be sure to go back, but next time to a NY location just to mix things up.

Ms. Get Right

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

